Flash Feed Scroll Reader
Rauner Names Illinois Criminal Justice Reform Commission Members

Rauner Names Illinois Criminal Justice Reform Commission Members

(Springfield, IL) – Governor Bruce Rauner announced yesterday the members of the newly created Illinois Commission on Criminal Justice and Sentencing Reform.

The commission, composed of experts from various fields within the criminal justice system and legislators, will be led by the governor’s Public Safety Director Rodger Heaton.

Rauner says the commission will analyze all aspects of the criminal justice system from the initial arrest to re-entry into the community and will look for “evidenced-based strategies” to reduce the rate of imprisonment, while preserving the public’s safety.

“The current prison system is costly, overcrowded and ineffective,” Rauner said. “We need to reform the system to stop the costly and vicious cycle of recidivism and help those who’ve left prison get the help they need to become productive members of society.”

Members of the Illinois State Commission on Criminal Justice and Sentencing Reform are as follows:

Chairman: Rodger Heaton – Public Safety Director & Homeland Security Advisor, Office of the Governor

Vice Chairman: Jason Barclay – General Counsel, Office of the Governor

  • Kathryn T. Bocanegra – Director of Violence Prevention, Enlace Chicago
  • Jerry Butler – Vice President of Community Corrections, Safer Foundation
  • Brendan Kelley – State’s Attorney, St. Clair County
  • Andrew D. Leipold – Edwin M. Adams Professor of Law, University of Illinois
  • John Maki – Executive Director, Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority
  • Douglas B. Marlowe – Chief of Science, Law & Policy, National Association of Drug Court Professionals
  • David E. Olson – Professor of Criminal Justice and Criminology, Loyola University
  • Michael J. Pelletier – Illinois Appellate Defender
  • Elena Quintana – Executive Director, Institute for Public Safety – Adler University
  • Elizabeth Robb – (Ret.) Chief Judge, 11th Judicial Circuit
  • Pamela F. Rodriguez – President and CEO, Treatment Alternatives for Safe Communities
  • Kathryn Saltmarsh – Executive Director, Illinois Sentencing Policy Advisory Council
  • Stephen G. Sawyer – Director of Specialty Courts, 2nd Judicial Circuit & (Ret.) Chief Judge
  • Michael Connelly – State Senator
  • Karen McConnaughay – State Senator
  • Michael Noland – State Senator
  • Kwame Raoul – State Senator
  • Scott Drury – State Representative
  • Elgie R. Sims, Jr. – State Representative
  • Brian W. Stewart – State Representative
  • John M. Cabello – State Representative
  • Director, Illinois Department of Corrections
  • Howard A. Peters III– Former Director, Illinois Department of Corrections
  • Greg Sullivan – Executive Director, Illinois Sheriffs’ Association
  • Gladyse C. Taylor – Assistant Director, Illinois Department of Corrections
  • Michael J. Tardy – Director, Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts


  • Samantha A. Gaddy – Public Safety Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor
  • Zafreen Farishta – Public Safety Dunn Fellow, Office of the Governor


Twitter @IL_Observer

(*Note to Political Insiders: The Illinois Observer also offers our exclusive, subscriber-only e-newsletter – The Insider – to, well, Illinois political insiders. Each Tuesday and Friday at 6:00 a.m. The Insider arrives in e-mail boxes with the choicest Illinois, Cook County, and Chicago political gossip, insider information, and news tips. For more information and a free, 4-week trial subscription to The Insider, please go here).

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Google Plus
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Email
  • RSS
  • Google
  • Instapaper

About IO News Staff

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top